A Lonely Button

June 13, 2009

Just now I looked down and I found a button on the floor. It was just a lonely button. I have no idea where it came from. I picked it up and asked it (rhetorically of course; I never speak to inaminate objects expecting answers) “Where do you belong, little one?” Of course it gave me no reply, but just stared quietly with it’s four perfect eyes. I wonder if these perfect eyes had ever once been impaled by a sharp needle leading same-colored thread, and if it had ever been applied to a garmet, to serve as a mediator between two cloths. I don’t know where it came from, so I will never know.

Maybe one day I’ll find a purpose for this lonely button and it will have the chance to shine once again…maybe this is that purpose. I can’t ask a lonely button to tell me it’s purpose, but maybe I can talk to another human being to determine if they have served their purpose. And if they are just as helpless as a lonely button on the floor, maybe Justice will smile and purpose me to purpose another. So they might be given a chance too.

2 Responses to “A Lonely Button”

  1. wordflyer Says:

    I.
    Love.
    You.

  2. Micah Says:

    beautiful post.


Leave a comment